Flip through our Glossary!
A term that refers to products that contain no gluten, which is found in many foods, but is most notable as the substance that gives dough its elasticity, strength, and makes the dough rise. Some individuals have a severe allergic reaction to gluten and therefore must not consume products containing gluten. Wheat flour has a high gluten content while rice flour (brown and white), potato flour, chickpea flour, quinoa flour, cornmeal, soy flour, sorghum flour, and buckwheat flour are gluten-free and can be safely consumed by gluten-intolerant individuals. Foods as varied as distilled vinegar to canned soups may contain gluten, so reading the label is very important to ensure that a product is gluten-free and has been processed in a gluten-free environment (even small traces of gluten contamination in a manufacturing environment can be transferred to other foods).
Ratings, Reviews & Comments
There currently aren't any reviews or comments for this term. Be the first!