Vegetarian

Provided By
Share this!
Facebook
Google+
A person who does not consume meat or meat products. There are different categories of vegetarians based on the type of foods consumed and desired for their daily diets. Lacto-ovo-vegetarians allow animal products, such as eggs, butter, milk and cheese in their diet, whereas, Vegans do not eat any meat and do not eat animal products of any kind. Some vegetarians will also allow fish and/or poultry in their diets but will not eat any animal meat. This type of Vegetarian becomes close to those considered Flexitarians, a group of consumers who do eat meat one to three times a week.

Another category of Vegetarians is known as the Rawists, who believe that their diet should consist only of raw foods, consuming organic foods that are still "alive" in effect. Foods such as fruits, vegetables, and grains, none of which are cooked make up a large part of the Rawist's diet. Since the diet of Vegetarians typically does not include some form of meat, it often lacks a source of substantial protein, so other foods with proteins are substituted, such as legumes and tofu.

USDA Nutrition Facts

Serving Size1 cup
Calories123
Protein17g
Total Fat3g
Total Carbohydrates7g
Dietary Fiber1g
Sugars1g
Potassium120mg
Sodium400mg
Cholesterol0mg
Serving Size1 fillet
Calories290
Protein23g
Total Fat18g
Total Carbohydrates9g
Dietary Fiber6g
Sugars0g
Potassium600mg
Sodium490mg
Cholesterol0mg
Serving Size1 slice
Calories197
Protein21g
Total Fat9g
Total Carbohydrates8g
Dietary Fiber4g
Sugars1g
Potassium180mg
Sodium550mg
Cholesterol0mg

Vegetarian Reviews

There currently aren't any reviews or comments for this term. Be the first!
E-mail: 
Advertisement
Reproduction in whole or in part without written permission is strictly prohibited.
© Copyright 2014 Tecstra Systems, All Rights Reserved, RecipeTips.com